Library Finds

This is going to be a quick post but I wanted to show y’all a few really neat things we found in the library today.

It was a pretty mellow Labor Day for us today as yesterday was a pretty rough gnarly day for me. My 2.5 years of no asthma specific hospital visits officially came to an end. Having very severe asthma is a part of who I am (and also the reason for my Respiratory Therapy career choice). Thankfully after having Bronchial Thermoplasty done in 2015 my lungs have never been better. You could say I’m a smashing success story for the lung procedures that literally saved my life. Anyway, I had a very bad pulmonary reaction (severe bronchospasm) to a new cardiac medicine I was put on last week (my heart is also an a-hole but that’s another story for another day). Being a patient at my own hospital is quite embarrassing but I couldn’t have been in a better place. I’m glad I wasn’t working yesterday when this all happened. My coworkers (docs, nurses, RT’s etc) were absolutely amazing and took such great care of me. It was pretty scary there for a bit, until you can’t breathe you’ll never truly understand what it’s like. So today was a day for me to rest and not do a whole lot. Not like I really could do much, after a severe asthma attack I feel like I was hit by a bus & it takes awhile to get back to energetic self again.

Atom got me all set up on the sofa and we started going through & unpacking a few more boxes from the office in our old house & organizing the contents into the lower wooden cabinets in the library. Atom surprised me with a pumpkin spice latte which DEFINITELY made me feel better. Haha! For those of you who don’t know, Starbucks decaf iced pumpkin spice latte is literally my favorite drink in the universe.

Atom had cut wood & built shelves in the lower cabinets last week while I was at work so we could easily organize office supplies and various crafting things that didn’t need to be on display with the books on the upper glass fronted shelves. There was one lower cabinet we overlooked. Mostly old magazines & some old hymnals. Being the treasure hunter I am I had Atom put piles of the books & papers on the sofa with me to go through. I’m so glad I did. Here’s what we found:

June 1926 edition of The Masonic News in perfect condition. There is actually a decent sized stack of these from different months & years.

This neat old newspaper from Melbourne, Florida from 1936. A random newspaper to find its way to Indiana!

A place card from the lodge’s 100th anniversary celebration which was held in 1974. This is in untouched perfect condition.

Here are a couple religious lesson cards from 1900 as well as a perfect attendance award card from 1887.

I found this pencil drawing from 1916 that was folded & tucked into a book. It will definitely be getting framed & hung somewhere in the building.

I picked up this old match box to toss it in the trash can & out fell an almost complete set of tiny hand carved chess pieces. They’re absolutely amazing and were clearly carved by a true craftsman. None of the pieces are more than an inch tall.

Even though I’ve been in the library almost daily since moving here, it never ceases to amaze me how many treasures we are continuing to find! At this rate we will be finding things for decades!

Now it’s bedtime for me. I hardly slept a wink last night after everything so I’m hoping to get a head start on sleep tonight.

Theresa

3 thoughts on “Library Finds

  1. Hope you are feeling much better. Your finds in your tiny house (hahaha) are a joy to read up on. In a small way I feel like we are all on this journey along with you. Keep exploring.
    God bless you and your family always,
    Vivian

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

